UW Extension

Students

StaffStaff stories

Each semester, WGNHS hires students to work on a wide variety of projects with our faculty and staff. We leverage the work we can do with the help of students from area campuses; students get valuable experience as interns, research assistants, lab assistants and field assistants.

Andrew Belot
WGNHS student

Project title: Sample preparation for cosmogenic isotope age estimates of the Arnott Moraine in Waushara County, Wisconsin.
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: belot@wisc.edu

Jady Carmichael
Jady Carmichael

Project title: Website Intern
Advisor/supervisor: Linda Deith, Carol McCartney

Email: jdcarmichael@wisc.edu

Aaron Christensen
WGNHS student

Project title: Quaternary geology of Driftless Area
Advisor/supervisor: Eric Carson

Email:
aaron.christensen@wgnhs.uwex.edu

Catherine Christenson
WGNHS student

Project title: Stream parameterization for groundwater modeling
Advisors/supervisors: Mike Cardiff, Dave Hart, and Jean Bahr

Email: cchristenso4@wisc.edu

Anna Fehling

Project title: Climate change impacts to groundwater flux and streamflow temperatures in the Marengo River headwaters
Advisors/supervisors: Dave Hart and Jean Bahr

Email: anna.fehling@uwex.edu

Libby Ives
Libby Ives

Project title: Pleistocene geology of Jefferson County, WI
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: woodfor5@uwm.edu

Frank Jarman
Frank Jarman

Project title: Central Sands lakes study and National Ground Water Monitoring Network
Advisors/supervisors: Mike Parsen, Dave Hart, Pete Chase

 

Lisa Kamal
WGNHS student intern

Project title: Student intern working on the Lehmann Mineral Exploration Project, a data preservation project.
Advisor/supervisors: Carol McCartney, Brad Gottschalk

 

Madeleine Mathews
WGNHS student
Project title: Geologic sources of radium to municipal wells in Wisconsin
Advisors/supervisors: Matthew Ginder-Vogel and Pete Chase

Email: mmathews2@wisc.edu

 

Joe Rasmussen
WGNHS student

Project title: Geophysical modeling of Precambrian topography using aeromagnetic and gravity data
Advisors/supervisors: Esther Stewart and Basil Tikoff

Laura Schacter
WGNHS student

Project title: Quantifying nitrate loading from agricultural fields
Advisors/supervisors: Ken Bradbury and Mike Cardiff

Email: lschacter@wisc.edu

Liz Spitzer
Liz Spitzer

Project title: Grain-size analysis in Milwaukee Quaternary lab
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: spitzere@uwm.edu

Nadiah Tengku
WGNHS student intern

Project title: Student intern working on the Lehmann Mineral Exploration Project, a data preservation project.
Advisor/supervisors: Carol McCartney, Brad Gottschalk

Lauren Thomas
WGNHS student

Project title: Determining the energy budget and heat flows for a district-scale geothermal field operating under unbalanced energy loads.
Advisors/supervisors: Jim Tinjum, Dave Hart, Dante Fratta

Email: lkthomas2@wisc.edu

Chelsea Volpano
WGNHS student

Project title: Grain-size analyses for the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway and STATEMAP Driftless Quaternary mapping projects. Also an undergraduate research project focused on the nearshore sedimentology in southwestern Lake Michigan.
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: cvolpano@uwm.edu