UW Extension

Students

StaffStaff stories

Each semester, WGNHS hires students to work on a wide variety of projects with our faculty and staff. We leverage the work we can do with the help of students from area campuses; students get valuable experience as interns, research assistants, lab assistants and field assistants.

Andrew Belot
WGNHS student

Project title: Sample preparation for cosmogenic isotope age estimates of the Arnott Moraine in Waushara County, Wisconsin.
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: belot@wisc.edu

Jady Carmichael
Jady Carmichael

Project title: Website intern
Advisor/supervisor: Linda Deith, Carol McCartney

Email: jdcarmichael@wisc.edu

Sydney Chen
Sydney Chen

Project title: Data preservation of USGS schedules for well construction information
Advisor/supervisor: Irene Lippelt

Email: Sydney.Chen@wgnhs.uwex.edu

Catherine Christenson
WGNHS student

Project title: Stream parameterization for groundwater modeling
Advisors/supervisors: Mike Cardiff, Dave Hart, Jean Bahr

Email: cchristenso4@wisc.edu

Anna Fehling

Project title: Climate change impacts to groundwater flux and streamflow temperatures in the Marengo River headwaters
Advisors/supervisors: Dave Hart, Jean Bahr

Email: anna.fehling@uwex.edu

Chris Headlee
Chris Headlee

Project title: Central Sands lakes study
Advisors/supervisors: Steve Mauel, Mike Parsen

Ethan Heyrman
Ethan Heyrman

Project title: Geologic sample curation and data management
Advisors/supervisors: Pete Schoephoester, Carsyn Ames

Email: eheyrman@wisc.edu

Libby Ives
Libby Ives

Project title: Pleistocene geology of Jefferson County, WI
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: woodfor5@uwm.edu

Frank Jarman
Frank Jarman

Project title: Central Sands lakes study and National Ground Water Monitoring Network
Advisors/supervisors: Mike Parsen, Dave Hart, Pete Chase

Email: frank.jarman@uwex.edu

 

Kamyra Jennings
Kamyra Jennings

Project title: STEM social media intern
Advisor/supervisor: Carol McCartney

Email: kjennings@wisc.edu

Lisa Kamal
WGNHS student intern

Project title: pXRF lab assistant
Advisor/supervisor: Esther Stewart

 

Aditya “AD” Krishnan
Aditya

Project title: Technical operations intern
Advisor/supervisor: Pete Schoephoester

Email: akrishnan8@wisc.edu

Madeleine Mathews
WGNHS student

Project title: Geologic sources of radium to municipal wells in Wisconsin
Advisors/supervisors: Matthew Ginder-Vogel, Pete Chase

Email: mmathews2@wisc.edu

Afiqah Rafi
Afiqah Rafi

Project title: 2018 USGS NGGDPP data preservation and social media
Advisors/supervisors: Carol McCartney, Brad Gottschalk

Joe Rasmussen
WGNHS student

Project title: Geophysical modeling of Precambrian topography using aeromagnetic and gravity data
Advisors/supervisors: Esther Stewart, Basil Tikoff

Laura Schacter
WGNHS student

Project title: Quantifying nitrate loading from agricultural fields
Advisors/supervisors: Ken Bradbury, Mike Cardiff

Email: lschacter@wisc.edu

Hannah Schroepfer
Hhannah Schroepfer

Project title: STEM social media intern
Advisor/supervisor: Carol McCartney

Email: Hannah.Schroefper@wgnhs.uwex.edu

Liz Spitzer
Liz Spitzer

Project title: Grain-size analysis in Milwaukee Quaternary lab
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: spitzere@uwm.edu

Zachary Stalter-Clouse
Zachary Stalter-Clouse

Project title: Central Sands lakes study
Advisors/supervisors: Steve Mauel, Mike Parsen

Email:
zachary.stalterclouse@uwex.edu

Nadiah Tengku
WGNHS student intern

Project title: 2018 USGS NGGDPP data preservation
Advisor/supervisors: Carol McCartney, Brad Gottschalk

Lauren Thomas
WGNHS student

Project title: Determining the energy budget and heat flows for a district-scale geothermal field operating under unbalanced energy loads.
Advisors/supervisors: Jim Tinjum, Dave Hart, Dante Fratta

Email: lkthomas2@wisc.edu

Chelsea Volpano
WGNHS student

Project title: Grain-size analyses for the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway and STATEMAP Driftless Quaternary mapping projects. Also an undergraduate research project focused on the nearshore sedimentology in southwestern Lake Michigan.
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: cvolpano@uwm.edu