UW Extension

Students

StaffStaff stories

Each semester, WGNHS hires students to work on a wide variety of projects with our faculty and staff. We leverage the work we can do with the help of students from area campuses; students get valuable experience as interns, research assistants, lab assistants and field assistants.

Andrew Belot
WGNHS student

Project title: Sample preparation for cosmogenic isotope age estimates of the Arnott Moraine in Waushara County, Wisconsin.
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: belot@wisc.edu

Jady Carmichael
map of Wisconsin

Project title: Website Intern
Advisor/supervisor: Linda Deith, Carol McCartney

 
Email: jdcarmichael@wisc.edu

Aaron Christensen
WGNHS student

Project title: Quaternary geology of Driftless Area
Advisor/supervisor: Eric Carson

Email:
aaron.christensen@wgnhs.uwex.edu

Catherine Christenson
WGNHS student

Project title: Stream parameterization for groundwater modeling
Advisors/supervisors: Mike Cardiff, Dave Hart, and Jean Bahr

Email: cchristenso4@wisc.edu

Patrick Joseph Corcoro
WGNHS student

Project: Analysis of well construction reports in Grant County, Wisconsin.
Advisor/supervisor: Madeline Gotkowitz

Email: corcoro@wisc.edu

Inez Dufresne
map of Wisconsin

Project title: STEM social media intern
Advisor/supervisor: Carol McCartney

Anna Fehling

Project title: Climate change impacts to groundwater flux and streamflow temperatures in the Marengo River headwaters
Advisors/supervisors: Dave Hart and Jean Bahr

Email: anna.fehling@uwex.edu

Katie Herrick
WGNHS student intern

Project title: STEM social media intern working on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Pinterest and assisting with miscellaneous outreach projects.
Advisor/supervisor: Carol McCartney

Email: kherrick2@wisc.edu

Lisa Kamal
WGNHS student intern

Project title: Student intern working on the Lehmann Mineral Exploration Project, a data preservation project.
Advisor/supervisors: Carol McCartney, Brad Gottschalk

 

Maribeth Kniffin

Project title: Investigating hydrogeological modeling, uncertainty analysis and stakeholder perspectives in water resource management processes in Wisconsin’s Central Sand Plains
Advisor/supervisor: Kenneth Bradbury, Kenneth Genskow

 
Email: kniffin@wisc.edu

Kyle Kottas
WGNHS student

Project title: Door County wetlands
Advisors/supervisors: Dave Hart, Maureen Muldoon

Email: kottak47@uwosh.edu

Madeleine Mathews
WGNHS student
Project title: Geologic sources of radium to municipal wells in Wisconsin
Advisors/supervisors: Matthew Ginder-Vogel and Madeline Gotkowitz

Email: mmathews2@wisc.edu

 

Joe Rasmussen
WGNHS student

Project title: Geophysical modeling of Precambrian topography using aeromagnetic and gravity data.
Advisors/supervisors: Esther Stewart and John Skalbeck

Laura Schacter
WGNHS student

Project title: Quantifying nitrate loading from agricultural fields
Advisors/supervisors: Madeline Gotkowitz and Mike Cardiff

Email: lschacter@wisc.edu

Elijah Schukow
WGNHS student

Project title: Door County, WI wetlands
Advisors/supervisors: Dave Hart, Maureen Muldoon

Email: schuke70@uwosh.edu

Liz Spitzer
Liz Spitzer

Project title: Grain-size analysis in Milwaukee Quaternary lab
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: spitzere@uwm.edu

Madeline Streblow
WGNHS student

Project title: Central Sands Lake Study
Advisor/supervisor: Steve Mauel

Email: mstrehlow@wisc.edu

Nadiah Tengku
WGNHS student intern

Project title: Student intern working on the Lehmann Mineral Exploration Project, a data preservation project.
Advisor/supervisors: Carol McCartney, Brad Gottschalk

Lauren Thomas
WGNHS student

Project title: Determining the energy budget and heat flows for a district-scale geothermal field operating under unbalanced energy loads.
Advisors/supervisors: Jim Timjum, Dave Hart, Dante Fratta

Email: lkthomas2@wisc.edu

Chelsea Volpano
WGNHS student

Project title: Grain-size analyses for the St. Croix National Scenic Riverway and STATEMAP Driftless Quaternary mapping projects. Also an undergraduate research project focused on the nearshore sedimentology in southwestern Lake Michigan.
Advisor/supervisor: Elmo Rawling

Email: cvolpano@uwm.edu

Jacob Westrich
map of Wisconsin

Project title: Big data from small streams, improving understanding of groundwater/surface water interactions
Advisor/supervisor: Dave Hart